· 

My time in Brno, a creative break

Free stock image from Pixabay

And finally I am back home in Aberdeen, home. I spent the last few months in Brno, the second biggest city in the Czech Republic. My time in Brno was spent by exploring Brno, walks around, climbing at the local climbing wall and a local crag, working on my website, and privacy policy, a few small paintings, one large collaboration, arty studies. I also took part in a class called ‘Graphics for everyone’ and helped out in a charitable organisation called 'Artschool'.

 

 I felt that this was my time. I was able to really do the things I have been putting off and also relax and try to do less while achieving more.

 

 I think that by actually relaxing and doing a bit less, I was truly connected with myself and I was able to decide, what I wanted to do and achieve at that moment, without having too much to worry about.

 

I often get overwhelmed by all the things I want to do, and find it hard to create a focus and structure.  

I have been reading a lot of books that I borrowed in the local library (interestingly they also had a department for blind readers :-) ). Apart of couple of novels, I have read quite a few books on productivity, efficiency and getting things done.

 

The books I read in the Czech Republic are:

 

 The 12 Week Year, by Brian P. Moran, Michael Lennington

 

I enjoyed reading this book. Some good working principles and I feel that some of the methods that they mention will go well together with my yearly planner.

 

Attitüde, by Ilja Grzeskowitz

 

I found this book really positive, funny and down to earth with great stories and motivations to achieve things. It will be a book that I will revisit, on one of those days, when my motivation is creeping down.

 

The 80/20 Principle, by Richard Koch

 

 I learned a bit more about the Pareto Principle and that less is sometimes more.

A little about class ‘Graphics for Everyone’:

 

The class was led by a printmaker, graphic artist and teacher Lenka Tichá. The class offered a bit of flexibility. We got a chance to experiment, try new things and also to do a little bit of work development.  

 

As part of trying out different print making techniques, I had a chance to try out collagraphy, dry point and linocut. I was hoping to try the woodcut technique, however I did linocut instead. I feel that I have so much more to learn and experiment.

Here are some examples of some of my prints from the above class (I will be adding more images soon):

Collagraphy:

Linocut experiments:

A little about 'Artschool':

 

'Artschool' (charitable organisation) runs a variety of classes and workshops for people of all ages and also runs Architecture for Children, co-working gallery, exhibitions and events.  Strangely you can also live at Artschool, as they have a small room they rent out on the Artschool grounds. There is also a cool studio with big windows, currently rented out by an artist.

 

Brno, being the second biggest city in the Czech Republic, has quite a large population of foreigners. Karolina, the centre manager, has been working on a new website in English, that would allow people from other countries to enjoy being creative in Artschool.

 

I also volunteered at Artschool, it was nice to help out and meet new people and have people to talk to.

What have I been up to creatively while away, a summary (I will be adding more images in the next few days):

Very small paintings:

Studies:

Collaboration with John Paul Baptiste, from www.Vtelier.com, work in progress:

Ex Libris, Linocut:

Write a comment

Comments: 0